Air Freight Consolidators, Ocean Transport Intermediaries, and Non-Vessel Operating Common Carriers (NVOCC) can have an impact in the war on terror.

National Security is a top concern in our country. As a integral part of millions of supply chains, intermediaries are able to help secure our nations borders in many ways.

Companies are under increasing pressure from their clients to become C-TPAT Certified. At SGT, we help answer some of the most common questions and have the resources to help eligible companies become C-TPAT Certified. 

What are the requirements?

  1. Be an active Air Freight Consolidator, Ocean Transportation Intermediary or Non-Vessel Operating Common Carrier (NVOCC).
  2. Have an business office staffed in the United States.
  3. If applicable, have an active Federal Maritime Commission (FMC) issued Organization Number or an International Air Transport Association (IATA) issued Organization Number in the following format: ###### FMC Organization Number and ###### IATA Organization Number
  4. Possess a valid continuous international carrier bond and/or in bond/export consolidator bond (IBEC) registered with CBP.
  5. Have a designated company officer that will be the primary cargo security officer responsible for C-TPAT.
  6. Commit to maintaining C-TPAT supply chain security guidelines as outlined in the CTPAT consolidator agreement.
  7. Create and provide CBP with a C-TPAT supply chain security profile, which identifies how the consolidator will meet, maintain and enhance internal policy to meet the CTPAT consolidator security guidelines.

each eligible carrier should review the security criteria.

Costs and timelines are the next concern.

C-TPAT Members are 5 times less likely to be examined than non C-TPAT members
— U.S. Customs and Border Patrol